Overview of CHELSA

Strategic Aim

CHELSA aims to improve library and information services for public higher education and research in South Africa through adopting the following vision and mission:

Our Vision

To transform existing library practices in Higher Education to respond to existing and new realities and to lay the foundation for the development of a learning society

Our Mission

CHELSA strives through visionary and visible transformational leadership to ensure that the Higher Education sector is provided with optimal access to information for the purpose of learning, teaching, research and community development.

CHELSA will support knowledge management practices in academic and research libraries.

Our Objectives

CHELSA is a non-profit organization established for the following public benefit objectives:

  1. To promote the role of libraries in Higher Education
  2. To foster academic and research librarianship through partnership
  3. To develop information access policies for Higher Education libraries
  4. To enhance the use of technology within the Higher Education library environment
  5. To develop an active quality assistance programme for Higher Education libraries
  6. To establish human resources development programmes
  7. To transform the Higher Education Library and Information Services in terms of their fitness for purpose in a new era
  8. To ensure that all Higher Education libraries participate and contribute to community based services.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee manages the affairs of CHELSA in accordance with resolutions of General Meetings and in accordance with the Powers of CHELSA. A minimum of 6 persons serve on the Executive Committee.

CHELSA Executive Committee for the term 2022 - 2024 term are:


Chairperson: Daisy Selematsela (University of the Witwatersrand)

Chairperson-Elect: Nomawethu Danster (Rhodes University)

Secretary: Jeannet Molopyane (University of the Free State)

Treasurer: Lindsay Reid (Nelson Mandela University)


Immediate Past Chair: Shirlene Neerputh (University of the Western Cape)

Additional Member: Nthabiseng Mosala-Bryant (Mangosuthu University of Technology)

Additional Member: Khomotso Maphopha (University of Limpopo)

CHELSA Project Manager: Anke McCallum 

Executive Committee portfolio holders serve a two-year term of office. At least one-half of the portfolio holders on the Executive Committee shall retire biennially at the Annual General Meeting. However, all retired portfolio holders are eligible for re-election.