Skip to main content

New CHELSA Executive Committee

By June 3, 2022June 23rd, 2022Congratulations, In local news

We are delighted to announce the newly elected members of the CHELSA Executive Committee for the 2022 to 2024 Term:

  • Chairperson: Dr Daisy Selematsela (University of the Witwatersrand)
  • Chair Elect: Ms Nomawethu Danster (Rhodes University)
  • Secretary: Ms Jeannet Molopyane (University of the Free State)
  • Treasurer: Mr Lindsay Reid (Nelson Mandela University)
  • Additional Member: Dr Nthabiseng Mosala-Bryant (Mangosuthu University of Technology)
  • Additional Member: Ms Khomotso Maphopha (University of Limpopo)
  • Additional Member: Immediate Past Chair: Dr Shirlene Neerputh (University of the Western Cape)


Some of the CHELSA members who attended the recent Annual General Meeting and Ordinary General Meeting on 27 May 2022 at the Protea Hotel, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg, “Look, there’s only one chair… and I think we all know who gets to sit in it.” CHELSA members before being told to behave themselves.

Message from the Outgoing Chairperson:

It has been an honour serving as CHELSA Chairperson for the term 2020-2022, amidst the COVID 19 pandemic, with my esteemed colleagues: Daisy Selematsela; Ujala Satgoor; Zanele Mathe; Connie Bitso; Mushoni Mulaudzi and Anke McCallum.

We have achieved:

      1. Augmenting the CHELSA Standards for Academic Libraries framework in SA, which is presently serving at the Council for Higher Education endorsement as a quality guideline document for Higher Education Practice;
      2. Published the State of Academic Libraries in South Africa Report available on the CHELSA website;
      3. Established the National Institutional Repository Task Team to build a SA National Repository Platform which sets quality standards for all 26 Universities in SA;
      4. Endorsed via representation to the South African Open Science Task Team in unveiling a South African Open Science Policy, including RDM to promote Open Access;
      5. Aligned CHELSA with USAf and LIASA via formal MOU’s to strengthen and engage in professionalising the LIS sector.

I acknowledge and appreciate my colleagues from the immediate past Executive and bid good wishes to the new Committee Members as they continue invigorating the role and position of CHELSA during a challenging era. I urge every Library Director to ensure we build CHELSA into a force to be reckoned with, in our endeavours to promote University and Research Goals in South Africa.

Best Wishes

Shirlene Neerputh